šŸ“Š Lets talk metrics...

How to calculate what is working with your content

The newsletter that explores the art of storytelling, effective communication strategies, and the everyday impact we can create šŸ§šā€ā™€ļø

šŸ‘‹ Buongiorno, Bonjour, Hola, Hello

Have you ever thought about how many people overlook the impact their content has?

ā

Empathy is key in the design process, especially when you start expanding outside of your comfort zone to new languages, cultures, and age groups. If you try to assume what those people want, youā€™re likely going to get it wrong.

Mike Krieger

In this edition we will be setting the record straight onā€¦


1. How to calculate the impact of your content


2. An announcement with Berta Santos


3. VerĆ³nicaā€™s news

šŸ“Š Use your voice and metrics follow

It has been two months since I started my own business. I have been reading a lot about what it takes to maintain it, what kind of content works and doesn't, how to gain inbound leads, etc.

I have been given continuous tips about how my content should be doing this or that.

Most of the time, it works.

But sometimes, I do things as well by what I feel and believe in because I find that it works as well.

Because strategy is important, but so is being authentic and true to who you are.

Itā€™s crucial to anchor ourselves in the origins of our journey and the genuine value that we can bring to the table.

Our stories do that.

Content shouldn't be seen just as a lead generator; it carries your brandā€™s essence, values, and purpose.

So how do I know outside of the inbound leads and impressions that my content is working?

I calculate the impact that my content has had. 

How to study the metrics

  1. Going beyond impressions

    šŸ’” The number of impressions gives you an idea of the reach of your content. Thatā€™s great!

    But what truly matters should be the engagement ā€” the discussions ignited, the questions raised, and the interactions it has had.

    Why is this important? Going beyond the numbers gives you a better insight into the stories and connections that your content fosters.

  2. Building a relationship

    šŸ’” Content should not be viewed just as a sales pitchā€¦ Millennials and Gen Z are highly against that kind of marketing.

    Content should be used as a way to showcase values, and should not just be transactional. It should be a way to initiate conversations that matter ā€” conversations that drive change, challenge norms, and inspire action.
    With my content, I study which ones started conversations that led to building relationships.

  3. Being authentic

    šŸ’” As creators, I believe there comes a responsibility to use content for more than selling.

    When we craft content that values connection and conversation, we can inspire positive change, spark important discussions, and build a community that stand for something meaningful.

āœ‹What your content should NOT do

Exploit vulnerabilities and important conversations within a scheme to generate profit.

While it is understood that businesses aim to make a profit, if your content tries to convey a message that you neither follow nor practice and is used for sales purposes only, you should be cautious. Such an approach can backfire.

Follow what you preach.

šŸŽ™ļø LinkedIn Audio Event with Berta Santos

Are you passionate about making a positive difference through you work?

Iā€™m so excited to announce that I will be going live with Berta Santos, founder of Social Impact Newbie on September 7th at 4:00 p.m. CEST.

ā˜• We will be spilling the tea onā€¦

  • How to avoid the common obstacles and mistakes when starting your social impact career

  • How to build your network

  • How to leverage your experience

Make sure to bring your questions, we will be answering all your doubts!

šŸ—žļø VerĆ³nicaā€™s news

After a month of gallivanting around Italy, Iā€™m done for nowā€¦

Starting The Word on Record came at an interesting time ā€” during the summer in Europe, everything closes, people fall off the face of the planet to spend their time at the beaches or at the mountainsideā€¦

And though itā€™s the beginning of all of this, I decided that it was just as important to make sure that I took as much time off as I could to figure out a few things.

But I did want to send you proof of the fun I hadā€¦ which was stuffing my face with as much pasta as possible. This is from one of my favorite osterias in Rome, Osteria da Fortunata. You can watch from your table as they make the fresh pasta you are about to eat. This is cacio e pepeā€¦ one of my favorite Roman dishes made with grated Pecorino Romano cheese and black pepper.

A must try if you are ever in Rome!

Happy September! My favorite season is about to begin šŸ‚

The impact of words extend far beyond the page.

Have a good weekend!

VerĆ³nica