Taking One Step Back, Two Steps Forward

The newsletter that explores the art of storytelling, effective communication strategies, and the everyday impact we can create 🧚‍♀️

👋 Buongiorno, Bonjour, Hola, Hello

Happy 2024 community!

Season 5 Nye GIF by Friends

Gif by friends on Giphy

Yes… this may be coming in late, but still needed to be said! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season and were able to take time off if you celebrate this time of year.

It took me a while to get rid of the 9 hour jet-lag I had between the U.S. and Italy, but I think I’m officially back on Italian time. Finally.

Every year you make a resolution to change yourself. This year, make a resolution to be yourself.

Unknown

In this edition we will be setting the record straight on…
1. The importance of time off
2. 🎙️ LinkedIn Audio Event
3. 🗞️ Verónica’s news

⏰ Why time off is important

I took two weeks off from work. Here’s what happened:

Nothing.

The world did not burn, I did not lose thousands in earnings… the opposite happened actually.

  • My follower count increased on my platforms (slower than usual).

  • I was asked to write a guest blog post for someone.

  • I still managed to have some leads.

My clients did not get upset, as I had let them know beforehand that I was going to take time off. I managed to prepare in advance any of their needs, and then the computer was closed.

Why am I writing this in my bi-weekly newsletter?

I started my business 6 months ago, and the beginning was very difficult. As I traveled around Italy with my cousin on a trip we had planned before I even thought about starting my own company, I didn’t take the time off I needed while with her. I didn’t feel I was as present as I could have been. I was so worried about not getting clients, about failing as an entrepreneur… and quite honestly, I was so stressed. She was an amazing support during this time, and understood why I needed to take some mornings to be in the hotel to work.

But I did get to visit amazing places like Pompeii, Naples, the Amalfi Coast, and Rome. I just didn’t feel like I was as present.

And I didn’t want to make the same mistake this time around for the holidays as I went back to the U.S. to be with family.

Our businesses are vital, but so is our well-being and our relationships. Time off also ensures long-term productivity. As creatives, we need that. We need to be bored to be inspired.

Tips in making sure your time off is valuable

  1. Plan ahead

    💡 Inform your clients, team members, and audience about your break. Set clear expectations regarding your availability and what you will have access to.

  2. Unplug Completely

    💡 Disconnect from work-related platforms and turn off notifications to allow yourself to fully recharge. Avoid the temptation to check up on projects and emails.

  3. Engage in relaxing activities

    💡 You’re on a break! This is the time to catch up on all those books you say you’re going to read, spend that time outdoors, pursuing your hobbies fully… this is YOUR time.

  4. Prioritize self-care

    💡 Get enough sleep and focus on activities that contribute to your well-being.

  5. Ease back into work

    💡 The most important tip… it gets overwhelming to jump back in 100%. I started easing back in by only doing client work the first week before even starting to think about any of my company socials. By prioritizing tasks coming back, it helps prevent feeling overwhelmed and ensure a smoother reintegration.

Last but not least…

You can take time off when you believe it is best for you, not just for big events, holidays, etc. Make sure to listen to what your body needs. 🤗

🎙️ Beyond 9 to 5: A Conversation on Women, Work, and Wellness

I’m so excited to announce that I will be doing a LinkedIn audio even with Adrienn Pasics.

Adrienn and I have noticed that imposter sydrome is not just an individual challenge but often a collective one — especially for women.

We’ll dive into the subject of imposter syndrome, the unique challenges women face in their careers, and the indispensable pursuit of balance for our well-being.

🗞️ Verónica’s news

In my last newsletter of 2023, I shared how I wanted to write a blog post about how I believe that brands can be doing better with their marketing in 2024. If you want to be a part of sharing your insights, please fill out this questionnaire. The more answers, the merrier… and all insights are valid! 🤗

The impact of words extend far beyond the page.

Did you get forwarded this newsletter? Join the community here to get tips on storytelling and how our content can be used every Friday here.

Have a good weekend!