šŸ’‹ What a Rare Thing

The newsletter that explores the art of storytelling, effective communication strategies, and the everyday impact we can create šŸ§šā€ā™€ļø

šŸ‘‹ Buongiorno, Bonjour, Hola, Hello

I may just be a ghostwriter and content creator, but I wanted to immerse myself in a brand that Iā€™ve been using for the past few months and study its communication and marketing.

In doing so, I understood why I had been motivated to buy their productsā€¦ and itā€™s not as if I needed more lipsticks. šŸ¤¦ā€ā™€ļø

ā

I want people to really be inspired, to believe they can do whatever they want.

Selena Gomez

In this edition we will be setting the record straight onā€¦

1. šŸ’‹ How this brand made itself rare
 
2. šŸ—žļø VerĆ³nicaā€™s news

How a cosmetic brand stood out by being rare

Rare Beauty, founded by Selena Gomez, has taken the beauty industry by storm.

Hereā€™s the word on record:

  • Rare beauty sets itself apart with its mission: to redefine beauty standards and break the stigma around mental health. Itā€™s a refreshing change in an industry that is infamous for ignoring this conversation and setting unrealistic standards.

  • Itā€™s vegan and cruelty-free.

  • It follows in Fenty Beautyā€™s footsteps by offering an extensive range of foundation and concealer shades. It also offers disability-friendly packaging and products.

  • Rare Beauty contributes 1% of their sales to the Rare Impact Fund, which directly supports mental health initiatives.

Key Takeaway

šŸ§  Rare Beauty proves that marketing can be more than just selling; it can also be about making a difference while selling.

With that vision, Rare Beauty and Selena Gomez remainā€¦ Rare.

Discover why, when Rare Beauty launched, nobody thought it would succeed (myself included), how it set itself apart in a saturated market, and the impact the brand is making.

šŸ—žļø VerĆ³nicaā€™s news

Today I spent two long minutes making sure that ā€˜differentiatesā€™ is actually spelled that way.

Welcome to the mind of a writer.

Also, did I spend my time writing and editing my blog post listening to Selena Gomezā€™s music? I did. It was for research purposes.

And nostalgia.

The impact of words extend far beyond the page.

Have a good weekend!